Конкурс для молодых авторов из Центральной Европы - CEI FELLOWSHIP FOR WRITERS IN RESIDENCE 2017

Молодые авторы в возрасте до 35 лет из стран Центральной Европы (включая Беларусь, Молдову и Украину) приглашаются на конкурс стипендий.

Конкурс проводится Ассоциацией писателей Словении, его цель – развитие международных связей и сотрудничества среди молодых авторов из стран, не являющихся членами Европейского Союза. Стипендия в размере 5 000 евро будет выделена победителю конкурса, который проведет три месяца в любой стране, являющейся членом Центрально-Европейской инициативы.

Победитель конкурса также станет гостем Международного литературного фестиваля "Виленица", который пройдет 6-10 сентября 2017 года в Словении.

Заявки принимаются до 30 апреля.

Для получения более подробной информации нажмите сюда.

* * *

Call for Applications for the CEI FELLOWSHIP FOR WRITERS IN RESIDENCE for the year 2017 awarded by the CENTRAL EUROPEAN INITIATIVE in co-operation with the SLOVENE WRITERS’ ASSOCIATION within the Vilenica International Literary Festival


The CEI Fellowship for Writers in Residence is an award aimed at encouraging cross-border cooperation and promotion in the field of literature for young writers from Central European countries not yet part of the European Union. The fellowship is endowed with a cash award of EUR 5,000 for a three-month stay in any of the Central European Initiative Member States, selected by the candidate. The fellowship winner will be guest of the 32nd Vilenica International Literary Festival which will take place from 6 to 10 September 2017 at various locations in Slovenia. The fellowship winner will be officially announced at the press conference at the beginning of September, and fellowship will be awarded to him or her at the festival. The candidate is eligible for the fellowship from 6 September 2017 until 6 September 2018. Within 60 days after completion of the residency, the candidate must submit a written report.

The Central European Initiative (CEI) is a regional intergovernmental forum committed to supporting European integration through cooperation between and among its Member States and with the European Union, other interested public institutions or private and non-governmental organisations, as well as international and regional organisations. In order to offer a solid contribution to European integration the CEI combines multilateral diplomacy and project management, both as donor and recipient, while also bridging European macro-regions. The CEI, whose Headquarters is located in Trieste, is composed of 18 Member States: 10 EU members (Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia) and 8 non-EU members (Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia, Ukraine). In December 2011, the CEI was granted the observer status in the General Assembly of the United Nations.


The Slovene Writers’ Association produces and carries out contemporary public programmes in the field of literature. With a wide array of programmes and activities, it represents the most active organisation and the main centre of literary activity in Slovenia. The role of principal operator of public programmes in literature is also recognized by the Slovenian Book Agency with their active support and regular financing. The beginnings of the association can be traced back to 1872, when authors started to organise, but it took the current name in 1968. It was presided by distinguished Slovene writers. The Slovene Writers’ Association promotes creative freedom, acts as advocate to improve the status of Slovene literature and writers, and brings together writers from the entire Slovene cultural space, regardless of the borders. Always critical and creative, the association has helped make significant changes in the Slovene social and cultural space and life. It was very active during Slovenia’s quest for independence and the formation of the young country. The association fosters regular relations with international writers and carries out internationally acclaimed programmes.


The Vilenica International Literary Festival, a gathering of poets, prose writers, playwrights and essayists, but also translators, publishers, editors and critics from Central Europe and beyond is organised by the Slovene Writers’ Association in collaboration with the Cultural Society Vilenica from Sežana. Since the first Vilenica international festival in 1986, the climax of the event has been the presentation of the Vilenica International Literary Prize, awarded by the Slovene Writers’ Association to a Central European author for outstanding achievements in the field of literature and essay writing. Vilenica Prize Winners include: Fulvio Tomizza, Peter Handke, Peter Esterházy, Jan Skácel, Tomas Venclova, Zbigniew Herbert, Milan Kundera, Libuše Moníková, Josip Osti, Adolf Muschg, Adam Zagajewski, Pavel Vilikovský, Peter Nádas, Erica Pedretti, Slavko Mihalić, Jaan Kaplinski, Ana Blandiana, Mirko Kovač, Brigitte Kronauer, Karl-Markus Gauss, Ilma Rakusa, Miodrag Pavlović, Goran Stefanovski, Andrzej Stasiuk, Claudio Magris, Dževad Karahasan, Mircea Cărtărescu, David Albahari, Olga Tokarczuk, László Krasznahorkai, Jáchym Topol and Dubravka Ugrešić. Vilenica features numerous literary and cultural events; the theoretical part of the festival provides many opportunities for in-depth debates, while social events add to a relaxed atmosphere for socializing and meeting.


Conditions of entry

Applicants eligible for the fellowship are writers from all genres under 35 (born after 1982 – from 1 January 1983 onwards) from CEI Member States, which are not part of the European Union (Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine).

Application guidelines

The deadline for applications is 30 April 2017. Applications must be received in a sealed envelope by regular mail. The committee will consider entries postmarked on or before 30 April 2017.

Read the full notice and application procedures HERE.